Expanding England’s First Mosque
England’s First Mosque was set up in a large terraced house (No 8 Brougham Terrace) in 1889, and then expanded into the four adjacent houses (nos 9-12). Since the beginning of the twentieth century, the rest of the terrace was replaced by council offices in a substantial complex. (When built, they went under the name of the “West Derby Union|” – which managed what we would now see as health and social services.)
When Abdullah Quilliam, the founder of the mosque, was forced out of the city in 1908, the City Council took over his property here, and most of it became their Records office for nearly 100 years. When they left the Records office, teh Abdullah Quilliam Society steepd in, determined not to let this important piece of history be lost.
The City Council is now about to leave Brougham Terrace altogether, and the mosque plans to expand into it, in a pleasing symmetry of history.
This will allow an expansion of the prayer spaces, provision of a proper Womens’ Centre and Prayer Hall, as well as classrooms, cafe’s and restuarants. The hope is to also include a unique hammam as well as gym facilities.
The building has fine architectural qulaities, though it isn’t listed, and these will be preserved.
You can try a walk-through by following this BIMx link (opens in a new window).